Holy Eucharist Rite II at 10:30 a.m. sung by the St. John’s Schola and the Hot Cat Jazz Band, sermon by the Rev’d Todd FitzGerald.

Worship at Home:

Click here for Service Bulletin

Service Music:

Voluntary    The Hot Cat Jazz Band
Down By the Riverside
His Eye Is On the Sparrow
This Little Light of Mine

By now you have noticed that things are a little different this morning! Our music today is led by the Hot Cat Jazz Band, a local Dixieland-style band that specializes in Jazz worship – they do many of these services throughout Connecticut every year. Two of our choral anthems are in traditional a capella style, paying tribute to the Rev’d Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. But everything else, including and especially the hymns, are a time for you to tap your toes, move about, and sing praise with freedom and joy. 

Processional Hymn    Mine eyes have seen the glory

Gloria S280    Robert Powell (b.1932)

Sequence Hymn    He’s got the whole world in his hand

Music at Offertory    Just a closer walk with thee

Communion Anthem    Precious Lord, take my hand    George Allen, arr. Roy Ringwald (1910-1955)
Words by Thomas A. Dorsey, adapted by Joyce Merman following the death of Martin Luther King, Jr.
Candy Green, soloist

Precious Lord, take my hand,
Bring me home through the night,
Through the dark, through the storm, to thy light.
I have been to the mount, I have seen the promised land,
Precious Lord, precious Lord, take my hand.

Precious Lord, take my hand,
Bring thy child home at last,
Where the strife and the pain are all past:
I have dreamed a great dream that thy love shall rule our land,
Precious Lord, precious Lord, take my hand.

Precious Lord, take my hand,
Take thy child unto Thee,
With my dream of a world that is free;
For that day when all flesh joins the glory thou hast planned,
Precious Lord, precious Lord, take my hand.

Hymn in Procession    We shall overcome

Voluntary    When the saints go marching in

The Hot Cat Jazz Band:
Trumpet: Ross Tucker
Clarinet: Andy Sherwood
Trombone: Tom Boates
Guitar: Sonny Landolfi
Bass: Donn Doucette
Drums: Sal Ranniello